2020 - 2021
SMVFA - Meetings

August 17, 2020
Mechanicsville VFD

September 28, 2020
Newburg RS/VFD

November 30, 2020

January 25, 2021

March 29, 2021

May 1-2, 2021

See Schedule for Meeting Restrictions

Upcoming Events

Super Bowl LV Wing Platters

Sweet Street Donuts Fundraiser for Ridge VFD Auxiliary 

View All Events

2020 SMVFA Award Recipients
Email Print RSS Facebook Twitter RSS

By Southern Maryland Volunteers
January 6, 2021

On December 17, 2020 your SMVFA Officers held the awards ceremony for the 2020 award recipients. Due to the COVID19 pandemic we were unable to have our annual convention this year. The award recipients are listed below.



Fire Prevention: 

Class I: Ridge VFD
Class II: Cobb Island VFD & Benedict VFD
Class III: Newburg VFD & RS
Class V: Bay District VFD
Class V Special Project: Mechanicsville VFD 

Roland B. Duke: Mechanicsville VFD

Frank R. Cotrufo, Jr. Memorial Safety Award: Francis Raley – Ridge VFD

W. David Gott Fire Prevention Award: Theresa Palmer – Mechanicsville VFD

Father Aloysius Newman Chaplain Award: R. Keith Fairfax – Bay District VFD

Daniel J. Stevens Instructor of the Year: Dan Stevens – Waldorf VFD (1st Recipient) New Award for 2020

Life Saves: 

16 day old infant with ALTE:

Hollywood VFD: Lt Tyler Insley, Asst Engineer Grant Mattingly, FF Tyler Brady, FF Jason Sullivan, FF Drew Wallace, FF Ashley Windsor
Hollywood VRS: Dale Pilkerton, Jr. & Barbara Wible

71 YOM CPR from a STEMI on Rousby Hall Rd.

Solomons VRS&FD: Safety 3A Walter Taylor (one of his last rides), Kayla Taylor, Rescue Lt. David Hupp, Jacob Dzialoski, EMS Capt Alison Dickson, Jonathan Ford, & John Lewis

House fire on Glymont Rd – Technican Steve Winkler collapsed into Cardiac Arrest

Potomac Heights VFD: FF Robert Collins

NDW Station  20: FF/Medic Trevor Gaefcke


Unit Citations: 

Boat Rescue in the Chesapeake Bayin horrid conditions
Solomons VRS&FD: Boat Capt Chris Franklin, Asst Chief Thomas Moore, Chief Jonathan Dalrymple


House fire on Glymont Rd – Technician Steve Winkler collapsed into Cardiac Arrest
Potomac Heights VFD: Ashley Atkinson, Makir Avery, Jeffrey Clements, Brenden Donais, Michael Gimmel, Austin Kind, Stephen Rison, Denton Sandy, William Valentine, Dylan Walker, & James Williams 
LaPlata VFD: Matthew Gilroy
NDW Station 20: Alex Conover, Rady Krob
Charles Co Sheriff’s Office: Cpl. Andrew Coulby, Sgt. Charles McCue



Add a Comment Add a Comment 0 Comment(s)

Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Information:
Firehouse Solutions
Southern Maryland Volunteer
Firemen's Association

St. Mary's, Charles, & Calvert Counties
Emergency Dial 911
Copyright © 2021 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)