Southern Maryland Firemen's Association
Southern Maryland Firemen's Association
Southern Maryland Firemen's Association
Southern Maryland Firemen's Association
Southern Maryland Firemen's Association

Upcoming Events

08/30/2018 - 05/31/2019
Sportsman's Calendar - 2019 Gun & Money Raffle


Yard, Craft & Vendor Sale

Paint Night & Raffle Basket Fundraiser

MVFDA Appraiser's Fair

2019 Lexington Park Volunteer Rescue Squad Golf Tournament!

Maryland State Firemen's Association
Web Counters
Website Visitors
September 26, 2010
Visitors Today
Apr 21, 2019
Annual Installation As We Move Into Our 75th Year
Email Email Print Print RSS RSS Facebook Google+ Twitter

By Public Information Officer Douglas Medley
November 11, 2017

It was a festive night and our department members were all dressed in their class A uniforms with their dates or wives looking beautiful on their arms. As we move into our 75th year of our department the President and Fire Chief have some big plans for the occasion and the installation was just the beginning. It started out with the opening pledge of allegiance by all then our Chaplain Keith Fairfax lead us all in prayer. President Johnson then welcomed everyone including all the guests from other departments and the community. We were honored to have all the county commissioners join us along with the sheriff and delegate Deb Rey. We always have some of our very old friends join us also and this year we were excited to have two of our early members from the 40's and 50's Howard Britton and Joe Royston along with their lovely wives Kitten and Virginia and we were so thrilled to have them.

Now the hall was full and we like to think that it is to break bread with our members but we also know that Ms. Rita "B" prepares the food and boy did she put on the feed for us. No one went away hungry that is for sure and if they did it was their own fault. So after a Delicious meal it was time to get down to business of installing our officers for the coming year and for a very important moment and that was to recognize one of our members for reaching that magic goal of 50 years with our department.

The man of the hour was our own Melvin Tennyson who has served the department in many different positions with being our special account treasurer for 31 years longer than anyone else. Melvin has worked that position for all those years in addition to running his own fire extinguisher business and running his large farm in St. Mary's City.
In addition Melvin has provided smoke alarms for Christmas in April along with providing them to anyone in need and even going out and installing them. Never one to ask for any special praise he is one of those who just work in the background getting things done. He now joins the few other 50 year members of our department and can hold his head high cause he has paid his dues.

After Melvin was given his proper kudo's by the government officials it was time to install the officers for the upcoming year and to do the honors was the President of the Southern Maryland Fireman's Association Dale Bowen. As each officer's name was called they reported to the front of the Robert Braddock Hall. After all the officers were sworn it it was time for our chaplain Mr. Fairfax to lead us in the benediction. Once that was done it was time to really party. Now my photographer Bruce Theden took a ton of pictures and I hate to leave anyone out so here goes.

Line Officers

Fire Chief - Robert Wahrenbrock
Ass't Chief - Daniel Burroughs
Deputy Chief 3 - Brian Ticson
Deputy Chief 9 - Kyle Adams
Captain 3 - Daniel Martin
Captain 9 - Dave Martoni
Lieut 3 - Jermaine Sewell
Lieut. 9 - Nick Martoni
Sgt.3A - Anthony King
Sgt. 3B - Zack Werkheiser
Sgt. 9A - Nick Harrison
Sgt. 9B - Matt Callaway
Sgt. 9C - Daniel Culbert
Chief Safety Officer - Richard Sullivan
Safety 3A - Wayne Johnson, Sr.
Safety 3B - Kyle Woodburn
Safety 9 - Shawn Downs
Public Information Officer - Doug Medley
Water Supply Officer - Keith Fairfax
Health Officer - Joe Zienda
Training Officer - Daniel Burroughs
Fire Administrative Training Officer - Rick Redmond

Administrative Officers

Wayne Johnson – President
Richard Sullivan - 1st Vice President
Doug Medley - 2nd Vice President
Tom Eno – Secretary
Andy Waikart – Treasurer
Joseph Gould - Board Member at Large
Doug Sprouse - Special Account Treasurer
Zack Werkheiser - Board Member at Large
Doug Sprouse - Special Account Treasurer
Joe Zienda – Liason
Robert Wahrenbrock- Fire Chief


Comment Comment 0 Comment(s)

Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
Southern Maryland
Volunteer Firemen's Association

St. Mary's, Charles, & Calvert Counties

P.O. Box 906
Huntingtown, MD 20639

Emergency Dial 911

Non-Emergency: 240-412-0614
Copyright © 2019 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)